Is Rogers blocking RuinedIphone.com?
I got like 200 e-mails about this subject. I don’t think that Rogers is blocking our website. The fact that I’ve changed the DNS of the domain name is probably the true reason. The DNS need to propagate in all the servers around the world. It could take as long as 48 hours for this task to be done. Thank you for your patience and please, don’t start a petition against Rogers for this (haha).
July 1st, 2008 at 12:38 pm
I agree with one war at a time, but I can say the the original URL redirected me immediately yesterday so the propagation is complete and anyone should be able to get through.
One war at a time.
July 1st, 2008 at 1:41 pm
The solution to Rogers sticking it to Canadians is to buy a phone from Apple or online, go to Ebay and get the unlock code for 1.00, and then sign up with any other phone company and change out the sim card. Maybe Rogers will enjoy being the “stickee” instead of the “stickor”.
A full feature plan from Rogers will be approx 247 per month, compared to 75.00 in the USA.
July 1st, 2008 at 1:51 pm
I think Rogers and Cogeco IPs are being blocked
anything from 24.150 67, 216, or 72 coming from the cgocable.net domain shouldn’t be blocked
July 1st, 2008 at 3:05 pm
Appears your site or IP is blacklisted. Yesterday access was fine – today my firewall is blocking it as known Spam/Proxy/Malware site. – Just so you know.
July 1st, 2008 at 5:32 pm
How is the situation going now? Is it ok? Or, the DNS propagation isn’t finished yet for your provider?
July 1st, 2008 at 9:09 pm
i still have to use a proxy website, in order to see ruinediphone.com
otherwise i get an error page.
so it still is not working here, and i use rogers cable internet.
Regards.
July 1st, 2008 at 11:17 pm
the website is working fine from BC now!
Keep up the great work. Hopefully people who got the error messages / downed web site will check back in order to sign the petition.
When the guy is doing the media interview, you should ask YouTube to put it on their main page for a day or two. That would be awesome. I’m sure youtube/google aren’t happy about the plans if it jeopardizes future business
July 2nd, 2008 at 7:05 am
site had an illegal permission most of the day after 12pm which means nothing to do with your new DNS propagation. It was alrtough accessible through http://www.proxyserver.net. Therefore it looks like either Rogers or someone close to them hacked you. Obvious answer for me!
July 2nd, 2008 at 7:06 am
sorry that should be in above post
http://www.freeproxyserver.net/
July 2nd, 2008 at 7:07 am
I wish people would stop talking about the possibility of getting an unlocked iPhone. It’s not going to be possible. First, most of the big telcos (AT&T and O2) are requiring customers to activate their iPhones on contract before the leave the store where they’re purchased. So it’s not going to be like it was before where AT&T and Apple were selling iPhones left and right and HOPING you were going home to activate them.
If there are a few telcos in the world that aren’t working under this premise, I’m sure they will be in the gross minority which will only drive up the price for an unlocked iPhone as if it was the Holy Grail.
July 2nd, 2008 at 10:45 am
well I can only access the website using a VPN program. Oh yeah and I’m using Rogers Internet.
July 2nd, 2008 at 11:19 am
It came back up in Ottawa today.
July 3rd, 2008 at 9:59 am
I run rogers internet form home…here is the deal..i have been trying for 2 days to access your site from home (no luck, i get the forbidden page) however using my connection from work i have no problem at all.. i have tested this theory over 2 days and it proved successful…I can access from work but not from my rogers account at home…i do not know who is our provider at work..could be bell…
July 6th, 2008 at 7:40 pm
I think it is time that the CRTC break up Rogers and prevent controlling all the communications in the canada. Kill the monopoly it is starting to look like colonial times again!